Our TSH Board | Telethon Speech & Hearing

TSH Board

Dr Alec O'Connell (Board Member)

Dr Alec O'Connell

Chair (2019 – present)

Dr Alec O’Connell has held a variety of both teaching, administrative and leadership positions within schools and universities. He holds a Doctorate of Business Administration (UWA), a Master of Education, Bachelor of Education, Graduate Diploma of Language Studies, Diploma of Teaching, and Diploma Royal Society of Arts (TESL) from London.

He currently chairs the Association of Independent Schools WA and the Association of Heads of Independent Schools Australia (AHISA) WA Branch, is a member of the Independent Schools Council of Australia, and a member of the UWA Business School Ambassadorial Committee.

In 2020, Dr O’Connell was elected as Telethon Speech & Hearing’s Board Chair.

Peter Marcakis - Secretary at Telethon Speech & Hearing

Peter Marcakis

Secretary (2014 - Present)

Peter is a qualified CPA and Chartered Secretary with over 20 years’ experience in senior financial roles within the mining, investment, banking/finance and manufacturing industries.

Olivier Marion - Treasurer at Telethon Speech & Hearing

Olivier Marion

Treasurer (2016 – present)

Olivier has over 12 years corporate and international tax experience across a range of industry groups and territories and has a strong background in accounting, corporate finance and investment finance. Olivier has volunteered for various organisations such as Telethon and the PMH Foundation.

Dianne Symons

Dianne Symons

(2016 – present)

Dianne has over 20 years experience within the marketing, PR and communications industry in Perth. Dianne currently runs her own consultancy business and has extensive experience in project management, audit reporting, brand management, tender and business case proposals. She has previously worked on the Lexus Ball (in support of Telethon).

Anna Gelavis - Member of Board at Telethon Speech & Hearing

Anna Gelavis

(2017 – present)

Anna has extensive experience in many facets of health, having held senior clinical and administrative positions in government, public and private health sectors. Anna’s expertise includes leading state wide health programs, providing strategic policy advice in developing legislation and consulting on state and national health reform initiatives.

Anna has represented WA Department of Health on state and national committees and has been successful in negotiated decisions on national and state medicine regulation and the national registration and accreditation of health professionals. Anna maintains an ongoing commitment to the pharmacy profession has been awarded Fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and actively contributes to research, education and various advisory committees.

Daniel White - Member of Board at Telethon Speech & Hearing

Daniel White

(2017 – present)

Daniel is an experienced Perth-based lawyer with a strong background in industrial relations, particularly in the resources and maritime/shipping sectors. He has been individually named as a recommended lawyer in the 2017 Doyles Guide list of Leading Employment Lawyers (Employer Representation) – Western Australia.

His experience across the full range of industrial relations, employment and workplace discrimination/harassment issues sees him regularly advise and represent corporate clients and government instrumentalities in the Fair Work Commission (including Full Bench), the Federal Circuit Court and Federal Court, the Supreme Court of Western Australia, Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission and Western Australian Industrial Magistrates Court and equal opportunity tribunals (including Australian Human Rights Commission).

Dr Tim Cooney - Member of Board at Telethon Speech & Hearing

Dr Tim Cooney

(2017 – present)

Dr Tim Cooney MBBS(Hon) FRACS grew up in Queensland and graduated from the University of Queensland with honours. Tim won several prizes in his undergraduate years including the William Nathaniel Robertson Medal, the H.J. Windsor prize and the Memorial prize of the Australian Medical Association. Tim trained in Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery in Queensland and completed a fellowship in Nose and Sinus surgery with Professor Nick Jones at the University Hospital Nottingham, UK.

Tim works at Princess Margaret Hospital for children and several other institutions in Perth. His special interests include paediatric otolaryngology, sinus disorders and surgery of the anterior skull base. He runs an annual nose and sinus surgery course here in Perth, which attracts both Australian and International ENT surgeons.

Jeremy Rigg - Member of Board at Telethon Speech & Hearing

Jeremy Rigg

(2017 – present)

Jeremy has over 18 years’ experience as a senior professional adviser across many sectors, including healthcare, financial services and higher education, with governance experience in the private and not-for-profit sectors.

Jeremy currently serves as Associate General Counsel for Health at Serco Asia Pacific after having a number of senior roles including being Associate Director, Risk & Legal within the Office of Strategy, Planning & Performance at The University of Western Australia.